DIY: PVC Camera Stand

camera-stand

For this DIY assignment, I built a camera stand made only of PVC pipe, a screw, a nut, and a washer. In order to create a stand that would be functional, I had to design something similar to a blueprint for its structure and scale. My initial reasons for tackling this sort of DIY project were to challenge my natural ability to feel confused about things related to physics and engineering. Also, a PVC pipe stand is loads cheaper than a professional camera stand and can be taken apart and put back together very easily. After several visits to the Home Depot plumbing isle, struggling to discover the difference between a machine screw and a hex bolt, and much color coding, the camera stand finally got up onto its own three legs.

During my search for tutorials, I could not find a set of steps that easily explained how to build a camera stand out of PVC pipe. Although I did find one tutorial that was building a slightly similar stand, the steps were not sufficient for me to understand what I needed to do. Popular related tutorials included camera stabilizers, smart phone stands, or light stands. So I combined aspects of each tutorial to make a camera stand. The process was a little difficult since I was improvising some parts, so I often had to re-watch or reread tutorials.

My list of resources include two YouTube tutorials on how to build a PVC light stand, an online written tutorial for a PVC camera mount, an online tutorial for a PVC camera stand, and a blog post about the best structures for real, professional camera tripods. I found the YouTube videos to feel the most open and credible because I could see and hear the person who was giving me information. The written tutorials were published on a DIY site called Instructables, which formatted people’s posts in a step-by-step way, making it accessible for people wanting to learn “how to” things. My last source, a review on recommended camera tripods, was written for professional photographers looking to buy the best gear, so it may have been biased in trying to sell certain tripods over others. At first, I wanted to make my stand multi-purpose, like some of the stands in the B&H review, but I decided to start off with a simpler design. In the future, I may add to the camera stand to expand its features. I used this last source to get a sense for what high quality camera stands looked like in terms of structure. In the end, I decided to create a stand that was simple in structure and easy to take apart.

camera-stand-blueprint

The final sketched blueprint color codes all of the required pieces.

The YouTube video by the channel Film Riot was most helpful to me. The two men who spoke during the video were articulate and easy to follow, and I could pause or rewind the video whenever I needed. While the written tutorials that I found were also useful, I sometimes had trouble visualizing the “in-between” parts that happened between steps, which appear in Film Riot’s video tutorial. The video was probably most helpful to me because I learn most effectively through a multimodal learning process, according to the most recent VARK Questionnaire. In other words, I rely on listening, speaking, reading, and seeing what I am learning about. The video met my needs as a multimodal learner by showing text, saying the steps out loud, and seeing the process occur in the real world.

vark-questionnaire-results

The Film Riot video tutorial proved most helpful to me because it allowed me to observe, listen, and read the steps.

Sources

Bagal, S. (n.d.). Make DSLR mount stand for less than 6 $ using PVC pipes (Monopod/Tripod for any camera). In Instructables. Retrieved from http://www.instructables.com/id/Make-DSLR-mount-stand-for-less-than-6-MonopodTripo/.

Connolly, R. (2012, January 25). $10 DIY Light Stand! . Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJ5rZrNQBXo.

Gadget Addict. (2014, March 22). PVC Light Stands – DIY. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KG-I-uVGFsU.

Reichbaum, E. (2016, July). 10 Recommended Tripods for Photography. In B&H: Photo, Video, and Pro-Audio. Retrieved from http://www.bhphotovideo.com/explora/photography/buying-guide/10-recommended-tripods-photography.

Specific Love Creations. (2015, December 17). How to Make a PVC Camera Mount Rig and Stabilizer. In Instructables. Retrieved from http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Make-a-PVC-Camera-Mount-Rig-and-Stabilizer/.

 

 

This entry was posted in #1. DIY Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

