Hold my lens!

For this DIY project, I decided to create a camera lens pouch. I had seen projects like this over the summer, but I didn’t want to attempt it since it involved sewing. Before this assignment, I had never sewn anything (by hand or by machine), so I figured it would be fun to try it out. If I succeeded, then I’d have a pouch for my camera lens. If not, well I could say at least I tried. My main concern with this project was the sewing itself. I was afraid I would mess up the fabric, or I wouldn’t do the sewing itself correctly, or that the end product wouldn’t look like it was supposed to.

Along the way, one of my main problems was just making sure the stitches looked neat,

img_0465

Finished camera lens pouch

 

especially since I was doing it by hand. In the beginning, the stitches were not in straight or neat lines, so I’d have to go back and fix them. Other times, I would almost sew the pieces of fabric the wrong way, so I’d have to undo the stitches and rearrange the fabric. I would have to look at different tutorials to make sure I was on the right track. Another main issue was tracing out the fabric pieces. I had printed the template from the blog post, but the pieces were too small. Looking at my final product now, the top flap is a little too small, but is still functional.

 

I had searched on Pinterest for “camera DIY projects”. I knew Pinterest had lots of different DIY projects about different items, so I knew there had to be camera related projects. I had previously also seen lens pouch tutorials on this site, but I wanted to find a tutorial that I could do by hand. These two videos that I found on YouTube, “How to Quilt” and “How to sew without a machine” were extremely helpful as well. I had previously found other crafty videos on YouTube (to make beaded bracelets or “friendship bracelets”), so I figured I could search on there as well. I liked watching the videos because I could sew along with the video if I had to, and I always followed along pretty easily when watching bracelet videos. I also simply searched “sewing for beginners” on Google and was able to find different sources that involved sewing by machines and by hand. I felt that Google would be a good way to find basic and easy tutorials that weren’t overly complicated. I think a lot of crafty people share their DIY ideas and projects to show others that the projects are not as intimidating as they may seem. I believe that they were credible because the sources were on websites where the creators had other examples of diy projects they had also done. The pictures added to the sources also proved that the

screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-8-51-16-pm

“How to Hand Quilt” Video

creators knew what they were talking about. The article “How to Sew by Hand” explained several different ways to sew, having explanations mixed with photographs. The blog post “How to make a quilter’s knot” was helpful too. It shows one small part of the sewing process, but it was definitely something I had trouble with. Out of these four sources, I honestly preferred the videos. It was easier to understand how to actually sew and how to place my hands more or less. With the article and the blog post, I think I tried to understand the process more by looking at the photos than through the instructions themselves.

 

 

I think the most helpful source was the main blog post from where I found the idea for this DIY project. This camera lens DIY project tutorial had step by steps instructions and

img_0457

Nearly finished pouch

photos so that I could follow along with it.While it was not a video tutorial, it did have several photos that I could reference during the process. I had to look at the previously mentioned sources in order to learn the very basics of sewing and quilting, which helped me complete this project. Photos and videos helped me understand the process more than just listening or reading would. As I watched videos, I was more focused on what was happening than listening, and as I read articles or posts, I always referred to the photos instead of just the text. For me, it helped make sure I was staying on track of finishing my lens pouch. It was also easier to follow along with the videos.
According to my Vark Questionnaire, I had a “multimodal learning preference.” My top two learning preferences were kinesthetic (learning through practice or simulation) and visual (dealing with graphs and diagrams, etc). Thinking about this, it makes sense because of which classes have been my favorite here at Trinity. Last semester in the Web Design class, Dr. Delwiche would show us what to do/code on the projector, and we would follow along on our computers. Another one of my favorites was Beginning Film Photography because I was able to learn the process of developing film and photos and do it all by hand. I really enjoy getting to try

screen-shot-2016-09-05-at-3-23-04-pm

Multimodal Result

and practice things myself. Overall, this project really showed me that I learn better by watching and doing. I stay more focused than if I was only listening.

 

img_0467

Finished Product!

Resources:

Cabral, Constança. “Saídos Da Concha: Quilts & Quilting :: How to Make a Quilter’s Knot.” Saídos Da Concha: Quilts & Quilting. 16 Nov. 2011. Web.

Gratz, Wendi. “How To Sew Without a Machine.” YouTube. 29 Dec. 2010. Web.

Smith, Katie. “Camera Strap Lens Cap Pouch DIY.” Punk Projects. 21 Mar. 2012. Web.

Poskin, Ashley. “How to Hand Sew: 6 Basic Stitch Photo Tutorials.”Apartment Therapy. 01 Sept. 2016. Web.

ProfessorPincushion. “How to Hand Quilt.” YouTube. 03 Nov. 2015. Web. 12 Sept. 2016.

This entry was posted in #1. DIY Project, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hold my lens!

  1. Pingback: The Show Must Go On | Tales from the Fourth Floor

Leave a Reply

