Jinglin’ Jeopardy

Help! Someone has miscounted Santa’s inventory and he can’t deliver all of his Christmas presents until everything is accounted for! Cookies must be collected and snowflakes must be caught! Is there only one Elf without his hands full?

 

snip6

In Jinglin’ Jeopardy the user plays as Pokey, a young elf who seems to be the only one capable of collecting Santa’s last needed items. Pokey must navigate difficult moving terrain and ice spikes to bring Santa’s cookies back, and brave the elements outside of Santa’s shop on the search for special blue snowflakes. 

Details of my game are fleshed out in my game-design-document. Creating this game, I found it much easier to focus on making one level at a time. I spent time working on each level separately, getting all of the design and code to work properly, and only after I finished each level did I begin the interaction and carry-over code between the levels.

The first level I worked on was the Cookie level, in which Pokey must collect 24 snowman-

snip7

Fig.1 The Cookie Level

shaped cookies and return back to the entrance without dying. I had the most difficulty with this level. Initially, the spikes I placed on the first set of platforms would move independently, and I couldn’t figure out how to attach them so that they would move with the platform. After many questions to Dr.Delwiche, visits to the Scirra.com website and experimenting with various potential solutions, we discovered that picking a specific UID and using the “Set Position To” option was the best one in order to fixate the ice spikes to the platforms.

I also had difficulty with sizing the tiles correctly. For some reason, the creator of the sprite sheets and tile packages I used left a small space along the edges of each tile which left me with a very inconsistent layout. I resized the grid which I snapped the tiles to and made it a little smaller than the size of my tiles in order to prevent any gaps between individual tiles. After shifting everything into place, I then manually placed any tiles I felt should be placed differently, and moved on.

snip1

Fig.2 The Snowflake Level

 

The second level I created was the Snowflake level, which went very smoothly. The code connecting each level to the main layout wasn’t terribly difficult at all, in fact, it was rather fun. I tested out multiple ways of dying and combinations of collecting items to see if there were any gaps or loopholes in the code.

 

 

Credits

Majority of the art I used for my game was created by an artist on OpenGameArt.org called “Kenny.” I used a fair number of his packs which were all included in a massive zip file here. I also used another artist: pzUH’s Winter Tile Pack for the background of the levels.

Pokey the Elf was a piece of free Clipart posted on Media Cache that I found through Pinterest. The artist was unknown. I animated him in Adobe Animate.

The “Christmas is Saved!” background was a free piece of Clipart I found on Clipartkid.com.

The music I used in my game was a Royalty-Free original piece found on YouTube, created by The Cyberwave Orchestra entitled  “Christmas Fun”.

The sound effect I used for when Pokey loses a life was also found on YouTube, created by Sound Effects entitled “Cartoon Ouch Sound Effect”.

I would like to thank all of the content creators for making this game possible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

