Jonah’s Game

The title of my game is “Kill and Break Things”. Why? Because this is what you do when playing the game. This game plays on my life-long destructive nature. Whether it is a fish or a fly, your number one goal in this game is to kill things before they kill you. Oh and did I mention you get to collect gold coins for points! Over the course of two levels you gain points. At the end of the game all of the points are added up and you receive your final score. You can compete with your friends to see who can get the highest score.

I must say that I had quite a lot of fun designing my game. I was able to stick to what I had planned. As such I was able to concentrate on making the game and not having to plan the game as I was making it. My favorite part of the game is the ability to vanquish my enemies with large scary bullets. Dr. Delwiche really helped me with my game when he helped me make it so that the hero in my game could fire bullets to both the left and right. Previously, my hero was only able to fire his bullets to the right. This is quite an issue when the enemies are on the left side of my hero! This whole bullets not firing where I want them thing was the greatest challenge that I faced while building my game. Next I want to learn how to make more advanced and challenging enemies. Overall, I had a great time creating my game. I’m interested in learning more about game design. Before I took this class I thought that designing a game like this was beyond my technically abilities.

My game design can be found here 

My game can be played here 

screenshot-2016-11-21-00-48-55

Level 1 

Screenshot 2016-11-21 00.49.00.png

Level 2

Credits

First I would like to thank Dr. Delwiche for being so helpful with the bullets.

Secondly I would like to thank everyone that helped create the images that I used in my project.

My hero character sprite was made by Buch. Buch uploaded his sprites to opengameart.com where I found them and used them in my project. The name of these sprites is A platformer in the Forest.

I found my gun sprite on freepngimages.com a link can be found here 

The bomb sprite that I used was found on pixabay. A link can be found here 

My audio was found on youtube.com. The author of it is FranzPlays. A link can be found here

I downloaded this audio using http://www.youtube-mp3.org/ I then used Adobe Media Encoder to convert the mp3 file into a wave file which could be put into a constuct game.

The gold heart was found on a website called clker.com. A link can be found here 

A lot of my sprites were images that I found on google images.

Thank you to everyone who contributed to making this game a possibility.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

