TigerTV: A Platform Game

gamecap

Figure 1. The level select screen.

Have you ever wished you could place an exaggerated rendition of your college experience and place it onto a 2D platform game? Well, that’s exactly what I did. My platform game TigerTV: Showtime is very blatantly inspired by the work I do as a TigerTV Manager. As the head of marketing and promotions for the station, I thought a fun, interactive way to promote our three shows would be through this project. I also felt drawn towards creating a game that reflects aspects of the college experience in hopes of it being relatable and thus funny. Obviously, you aren’t literally dodging various states of weather in real life, but walking across campus might feel that way sometimes. You can learn the specifics of my game design and mechanics in my game design document.

gamecap2

Figure 2. The third and final level.

I began the process by focusing on design. In hindsight, this was probably the most difficult approach. I was very nit-picky in my design choices, so searching for usable items felt tedious and time consuming. It set me back in terms of actual programming. It took me a long time to stumble across Jeff Ramos’s sprite sheets before feeling like I was prepared to move forward in planning. Thanks to Sam’s unending support, I opted to use filler objects to begin coding in order to catch back up. Following that obstacle, my next challenge was making the game more difficult with the increase in level. Because my programming abilities are relatively low-level, developing the level of difficulty without making it harder for myself seemed to be a struggle. I concluded that decreasing the amount of time allotted to complete the level was a substantial hindrance, especially when couple with the increase in environmental strains. Additionally, I had a hard time selecting a “weapon” that felt appropriate. I knew I did not want the player to attach NPCs, so it was a matter of finding an object to break down boxes that wasn’t a bullet. A hammer felt like a realistic and fitting choice, since this game is predominately grounded in reality. Outside of those things, finding items and backgrounds for my game was easy, especially since I was inspired by a preexisting television station that already had logos and backgrounds made and available for me to use. 

I’m interested in moving forward and making a non-platform game. I’m not sure how exactly that will work, and what types of games we can execute, but I really look forward to taking what we’ve learned and using it in more ways.

Credits

Jeff Ramos created the sprite sheets I used as the basis of his project.

Kenney is the maker of the tiles I used as well as other miscellaneous items.

All music, show logos, and some of my background images were found on the communications1 server, so a special thanks to the Communication Department and TigerTV for providing me with access to that.

The image of the studio I used as the background for my non-game screens was made by user Tonyp and uploaded to toonpool.com. The skyline used in the third level is made by George Rose/Getty Images for an article about famous skylines.

About mhill1

Trinity University student with a passion for movies and an obsession with food network.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

