Final Blogpost

 

Capture1.PNG

The start screen of TigerTV:Showtime

This post is both melancholy and relieving! Here are the links for my two major projects TigerTV: Showtime and the game document that accompanies it. As you all know, TigerTV:Showtime is inspired by the work I do with our on campus televison station. As a result, the game follows a college student in doing tasks for the station prior to each show. Between the two versions of my game, the biggest change I made was to include a tutorial to make the subsequent three levels more understandable. I also found a web font that works across all systems. Other than those two things, I made several small alterations such as bug fixes and making certain levels easier.

capture2

The tutorial level- a new addition!

For those of you who don’t remember, my animation was titled A Cactus’ Journey. The animation tells the story of a male cactus who realizes he has made a grave mistake in his romantic relationship and then treks across town to find his female counterpart. The music used in this animation is by Tame Impala and is called “Cause I’m a Man.” The lyrics really helped me to develop the story in my mind.

capture3

A happy ending between to cacti in A Cactus’ Journey!

My DIY assignment put me on a path of disappointment. I challenged myself to make brandy snaps, a popular British dessert. Unfortunately, making these is incredibly hard and the result was ugly. It took me several hours of trying before making a batch that was in the least bit redeemable. For the full recap, check out my DIY blog post.

Overall, this was a fantastic semester and I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It feels rare to take a class and feel like I’ve not only learned something, but also gained incredibly useful skills. It’s safe to say both I and my resume are grateful! I look forward to utilizing Construct2 and Adobe Animate CC more in the future, and I hope to find a way to put the TigerTV game somewhere on our website.

Credits

Jeff Ramos created the sprite sheets I used as the basis of his project.

Kenney is the maker of the tiles I used as well as other miscellaneous items.

All music, show logos, and some of my background images were found on the communications1 server, so a special thanks to the Communication Department and TigerTV for providing me with access to that.

Thank you to Vladimir for my SoundBible tutorial sound effect.

The image of the studio I used as the background for my non-game screens was made by user Tonyp and uploaded to toonpool.com. The skyline used in the third level is made by George Rose/Getty Images for an article about famous skylines.

About mhill1

Trinity University student with a passion for movies and an obsession with food network.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

